Start:Main Column

18th Keio Medical Science Prize Award Ceremony

Update:Dec. 05, 2013

The 18th Keio Medical Science Prize award ceremony was held on November 27, 2013, at Kitasato Hall inside Kitasato Memorial Library on Shinanomachi Campus.

The Keio Medical Science Prize is awarded to researchers who have made outstanding and creative achievements in the fields of medical and life sciences, and from whom significant activity can be expected in future, regardless of their nationality. This award has been awarded by the Keio University Medical Science Fund since 1996, and it is the only prize of its kind awarded by a Japanese university. Six prize laureates have gone on to win the Nobel Prize.

This year’s prize was awarded to Dr. Victor R. Ambros, professor of molecular medicine at the University of Massachusetts Medical School, for his research into the discovering and action mechanism of microRNA and to Dr. Shigekazu Nagata, professor of medical chemistry in the Graduate School of Medicine at Kyoto University, for his research regarding the molecular mechanism of apoptosis and its physiological and pathological roles.

Following a performance by the Keio University School of Medicine Orchestra, the award ceremony was performed in a congenial atmosphere. Prof. Hideyuki Okano, Chairman of the Keio Medical Science Prize Selection Committee, reported that a large number of researchers had been subjected to rigorous scrutiny by approximately 80 reviewers, both inside and outside Keio University, and gave brief introductions of both award winners. Then, President Atsushi Seike conferred medals and certificates on Dr. Ambros and Dr. Nagata before giving a congratulatory address. This was followed by further felicitations from Deputy Minister Shinichi Yamanaka, who gave a speech on behalf of Kyoko Nishikawa, Senior Vice Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology. Steve Dyokas, Manager of the Environment, Science, Technology and Health Unit of the Economic Section of the U.S. Embassy in Japan, then gave his congratulations. Finally, Dr. Ambros and Dr. Nagata took to the stage to express their delight in receiving the prize. They spoke of their research thus far and their plans for future research, bringing the ceremony to close.

Following the Award Ceremony, both prizewinners gave Commemorative Lectures after an opening message from Prof. Makoto Suematsu, Dean of the School of Medicine. An audience of about 300 participants including invited guests, Keio faculty and staff members, and students listened intently to their lectures and participated in a question-and-answer session after the lectures.

Dr. Victor R. Ambros
▲ Dr. Victor R. Ambros
Dr. Shigekazu Nagata
▲Dr. Shigekazu Nagata

Commemorative Lectures
▲Commemorative Lectures
Commemorative Photo
▲Commemorative Photo

Photos: Satoru Inoue